MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-10-2011, 08:38 PM
Master

Stab. Wood from Ebay

This is my first time going with stabilized wood and so I don't really know what I'm looking at. Is stabilized wood, say something like cedar, supposed to be heavy, or about the same weight as before? I got some peruvian walnut and I don't know about [I]peruvian[I] but it almost feels lighter than some unstabilized stuff I have. I don't want to use it if its no good but I don't know anything about the stuff.

Also is it normal that my scroll saw can't cut it worth crap? Not a problem cause my coping saw works, just curious.

I bought it on ebay from Big Mikey: http://myworld.ebay.com/bigmikeyc1/?_trksid=p4340.l2559

Anyone have experience with his product?

Thanks in advance
Old 09-10-2011, 09:22 PM
Steel Addict

Good evening Eli.

you'll get a few different views on the "stabilized" is. I went to Mikes sight and if you scroll down he tells you his process is done under pressure... that's good. it drives or compresses all the air out of the pockets in the wood. if the pressure is high enough... most aren't, the moisture will be driven out because it changes to a gas and comes out with the air. really good stabilized wood will not only go through a pressure cycle, but vacuum too.

he also states that he doesn't use a plastic product. without knowing what he uses its a little hard to guess, but I feel that's bad. the whole idea is you want to replace everything but the wood fiber with a substance that is stable under a lot of conditions. I like acrylic or even better Aluminite. what ever you use has to bond to the fibers and be stable under a lot of conditions.